The Green Flag Awards

The prestigious ‘Gold Truck’, originally donated by Green Flag, is awarded annually to an industry member who, in the opinion of the IVR Council of Management, has given outstanding service to the roadside rescue and recovery industry.

Awarded annually at the IVR’s AGM, this fabulous gold transporter, sponsored by Green Flag, is awarded to a member, by the Institutes National Council for outstanding service to the Roadside Assistance and recovery Industry.

1995 Dave Smith
1996 Brian Drury
1997 Peter Martin
1998 Bill Diegutis
1999 Tom Johnson
2000 Barbara J Camm
2001 Mike Boniface
2002 Brian Hagan
2003 Mike Cowan
2004 Geoff Gatward
2005 Steve Kirton
2006 Andy Lambert
2007 David Ebsworth
2008 Richard Goddard
2009 Colin Parlett
2010 Mike Donley
2011 John Sparrow



Green Flag Award

2014 There were no recipients 

2013 There were no recipients 

2012 There were no recipients 

2011 Former IVR Chairman receives Green Flag Award

The 2011 Green Flag Award was presented to John Sparrow FIVR.

John, a former chairman of the IVR, has been involved with the recovery and garage industry for over 40 years. In the early days, as with many operators, building the business took up much of his time but he still found time for other motor related pastimes. In his younger days he was an excellent rally driver, securing the sponsorship of Bass Charrington and taking part in the Mexico Challenge in a Mk1 Escort Mexico.

John has always been a staunch supporter of the IVR and continues to work in the family business, as do his daughters and his granddaughter.